Erratas

Errata and Clarifications:

General:
Command DC and Control DC are the same thing.

Buildings:
The following errata were mentioned on the paizo messageboards by James Jacobs and Jason Bulman.

Barracks (6 BP):Defense Modifier +2; Unrest –1.
Exotic Craftsman (10 BP):1 minor item, +1 Economy, +1 Stability.
Graveyard (4 BP): +1 loyalty
Watchtower (12 BP): +1 Stability; +2 Defense Modifier; Unrest –1.

Questions & Answers

Below can be found a collection of questions & Answers from the Paizo Messageboards.

Leadership Roles

Q: What are the rules for wearing more than one ‘hat’? For example what if a pc wants to be the High-priest and Councilor? Or Ruler and General etc?
A: Yup; only one hat per character. This is partially because there’s a sort of balance of power thing; if one character wears too many hats, then suddenly he has too much power. It’s also to help prevent a calamity in case your kingdom loses that character; if a leader dies or quits or whatever, you have only one vacancy. But if he was in multiple spots, suddenly you have lots of vacancies.

The MAIN reason, though, is that we want to have NPCs in there as fellow leaders. This makes for a more entertaining gameplay experience if not all of the slots are taken up by players, and gives the GM a chance to exert some influence over the kingdom as NPC co-leaders. Also, there are lots of events that involve leaders having problems or scandals or the like, and it’s usually better to just say that a scandal involves an NPC than forcing some sort of situation on a player.

And also, by limiting the roles to one character, this forces the players to actually have to make some choices.

Expansion & Hexes

Q: I’m assuming that the players start out by deciding on their starting hex, and then must expand out from that hex at the usual speed and BP costs? Basically, they don’t get any ‘free’ hexes added on, even if they’ve explored and subdued them, right?
A: Correct. No free hexes. First you have to spend the time to explore the hex, and then you have to claim the hex; two steps.

Roads & Rivers

Q: What are the effects of roads & rivers on travel?
A: The effects of roads and rivers on travel time are covered in the Pathfinder Core RPG, in Chapter 7. (These factors weren’t really talked about in the exploration phase since you can’t build roads until a hex is claimed, and you can’t claim a hex until it’s explored.) By building roads, you’re making it easier to move around in your kingdom, which is why you gain those bonuses to Economy and Stability.
Rivers do not count as roads for farms, and they actually can cause more problems than they solve for travel, since you can’t cross them easily at most locations. Again, rules for river travel itself are found in Chapter 7 of the Pathfinder RPG.

Q: Just for clarification, I assume Roads are the same as Roads/Trails in chapter 7 of PFRPG Core and not Highways?
A: Correct. Roads are roads. Highways are something else entirely, and are beyond the scope of the rules as they currently stand.

Experience Points:

Q: On the Gaining Experience chart for different kingdom accomplishments, are those numbers per PC or to be divided among PCs?
A: All XP awards are divided among PCs. We’ll say if an XP award is ever for a single PC, and I highly doubt we’ll EVER do that since it’s not really fair or in the spirit of the Pathfinder RPG.

Consumption:

Q: Can the consumption of a kingdom be negative? If a kingdom has many farms and not so many non-farm hexes and cities, it would be possible that 2 times the number of farms is bigger than the size plus the city districts. In this case, would the kingdom actually gain BPs from consumption?
A: No, consumption can’t go below zero.

Economy:

Q: In generating income it says to make an economy check against your command DC and if successful divide the result by 5 and add that amount to your treasury. If I had a +12 and rolled a 13 that would be 25. The DC would be 21. Do I divide 25 by 5 to get 5 BP or the 25 minus the DC of 21 to get 0 BP? I think it is the 5 BP but wanted to check.
A: That is correct. Successful check = divide result by 5, get that many BP. Failed check = you get nothing.

Edicts:

Q: What do you do with the Edict Penalty reduction in the case of multiple cities having Cathedrals, Arenas, or Waterfronts? Do you halve each time?
A: Nope; one four-square building is enough to halve the cost of edict penalties. Multiple arenas, cathedrals, or waterfronts don’t further reduce overall edict penalties (but multiple arenas, cathedrals, or waterfronts DO have a cumulative effect otherwise).

Q: Upkeep Phase Step 2 (Pay Consumption) precedes that month’s Improvement Phase Step 6 (Edicts), so how one can determine the increase of Consumption by Edicts? By previous month’s Edicts? Or should a Ruler declare that month’s Edicts before Improvement Phase?
A: A change to edicts doesn’t affect the consumption for that month; it takes a bit for the change to go into effect, and so won’t hit consumption until the next turn’s Upkeep.

Q: More important question. It seems that Festivals are measured by numbers per Year. But Consumption and Loyalty are needed by monthly rate. How does it work? For example, does “No Festival per Year” mean “Loyalty -1 at the end of 12 consecutive months with no Festivals”?
A: As for the festivals, the number per year is as much the number you actually hold as it is the number you promise, and the number that the common folk prepare for and look forward to over the months. This assumes that the king isn’t lying when he tells the commoners “we’ll have 12 festivals this year!” You get the stat changes automatically, in other words; if you reduce the number per year later, the modifiers change then.

Buildings:

Q: Are the unrest increases and reductions from buildings one time effects on the build turn, or are they ongoing?
A: Unrest reductions and increases occur only once, when the building is created. Unrest can get out of hand really fast, so a recurring unrest effect would be really bad.

Q: For the buildings that are required to be “Adjacent” to a house, what counts as Adjacent??
A: Anything counts as adjacent; left, right, above, below, diagonal, or even across streets. However, you can’t “double duty” a house. Once it’s used as a prerequisite for another building, it can’t serve as a prerequisite for a second building.

Q: Is the Tenement supposed to act as a house?
A: Yes. Tenements act as houses for the purposes of fulfilling the requirement; they’re basically a good way to build cheap houses since the unrest only hits you on the turn you build the house.

Cities:

Q: Is there a limit on the number of districts you can have in a city?
A: Not really. A GM can certainly limit the number of districts a party puts in a single city if he wants, but multiple districts would be the only way you’d ever be able to model a really BIG city, after all. A city the size of Westcrown would take, IIRC, nearly 30 city grid districts. Of course, your kingdom needs to be able to AFFORD all of those districts!

Magic Items:

Q: How often can you attempt to sell a magic item per phase?
A: You can attempt to sell a magic item once per Income phase per district. So if you only have one city, you can only try to sell one item per Income phase. But if you have multiple cities (or a city of multiple districts) you can try to sell a magic item from EACH district

Q: How are items that the PC’s want to sell (and thus convert directly to BPs) classified? If they’ve found a +1 sword while adventuring, is it a minor or medium magic item? It appears on both lists so can they choose or is it automatically the lower (or higher)? I can see circumstances where each of the two options might be better.
A: An item that appears on both lists should always default to the lesser. So a +1 sword would count as a minor magic item.

Q: The city is created and the magic shop ends up having an item a particular Ruling PC wants but doesn’t want to pay for, I mean after all he is the King/Ruling Elite and he and his friends created this Kingdom. So he demands it or demands half price for himself. What are the possible ramifications of this for the kingdom? Is there citywide Unrest? A special Event?
A: Just treat withdrawing items from the public the same as withdrawing money. The rules are already there in the Economy phase. +1 Unrest for the cash grab, regardless of amount. Then, a Loyalty check equal to +1/2000 gp withdrawn. If the check fails, you gain 1 unrest/2000 gp withdrawn.

Alternate Rules

Some alternate rules as found on the messageboards can be found below. (Jason Nelson, and James Jacobs)

Event Phase:
During the event phase you can hire adventurers:

Hiring Adventurers: By hiring adventurers, the PCs can effectively purchase one time bonuses to any Economy, Loyalty, or Stability checks made as a result of a kingdom event. A group of low-level adventurers (level 1–2) grants a +2 bonus on the check but costs 4 BP. A group of mid-level adventurers (level 3–5) grants a +5 bonus on the check but costs 8 BP. A group of high-level adventurers (level 6 or higher, but never higher than the PCs’ Average Party Level) grants a +10 bonus on the check but costs 16 BP.

Leadership Feat:
The leadership feat grants a bonus to your ruler bonus for whatever your role as leader is. Equal to +1 for each 10 points of your Leadership score. This represents a PC’s followers acting as their agents and loyal and efficient infrastructure throughout the kingdom, spreading good word of mouth, setting a good example for others, relaying rumors of unrest or honest assessments of the needs of the kingdom from the grassroots level back to the leadership, and generally being model citizens.

Non-City Buildings

Presented below are additional buildings and improvements that can be build outside of cities. Please note that constructing any of these improvements takes the place of the “build a farm” action in your kingdom turn.

Please also note that Camps, Farms and Mines are mutually exclusive – you can have a farm OR a mine OR a camp in a hex. None of these improvements represent a single building in a 12-mile hex. It’s not just one farm, or just one mine, or just one camp. Building means you have devoted the primary physical and human resources of that hex to the activity of farming (farm), mining (mine) or logging (camp).

Camp: (6 BP) A logging camp can be build in a forest area with a road or river. +1 Economy, +1 Stability. The economy bonus is doubled if the hex contains a resource like rare lumber: +2 Economy, +2 Stability.

Fort: (12 BP). A sturdy structure that serves as a guard post and lookout for danger. +1 Stability; +2 Defense Modifier; Unrest –1. A fort can be build in any hex containing a road or river, even if a camp, farm or mine has already been established. If a city is built in an area with a fort, the fort is treated as a watchtower.

Lock: (8 BP). A lock allows ships to traverse along height differences in a river. A Lock turns three hexes of unnavigable rivers navigable and provides a +2 Economy bonus.

Mine: (6 BP) A mine is used for recovering valuable or less valuables minerals, ores and gems. A mine can be built in hills or mountains if a road or river is present. +1 Economy, +1 Stability. The economy bonus is doubled if the hex contains a resource like gold or silver ore: +2 Economy, +2 Stability.

Rivers: Much like roads, rivers can be used for commerce. For every 4 hexes of navigable rivers your kingdom controls that contain navigable rivers, you gain +1 Economy. (Yes, hexes with a river and a road count for both.)

Terraforming: Instead of building a farm hex, you can convert a forest hex into hills or a swamp into grassland. This takes 6 months and costs 24 BP. You could also plant a forest in a grassland or hills hex for the same cost. You continue to gain the benefits of a camp during terraforming, but at the end of the terraforming it is destroyed.

Erratas

Settling the Stolen Lands CommandoDude